About Me · Family · Religious life

Chappy Chanukah!

I can’t believe I have come back to this site only three months after my original post.

Not that I have much to say, but, mainly I am here to say Happy Chanukah!!!

On a certain Facebook group (where Japanese dominates), someone wished all the Jewpanese out there a Happy Channukah. It made me super happy since it really rarely happens. I have baggage around Christmas basically because I grew up being asked how I celebrated “authentic” Christmas every single year–mostly by friends who I reminded every year that in fact, I am Jewish and Jews don’t celebrate Christmas (even if we live in Japan).

 

Part of the problem lies in the fact that most Japanese don’t understand the idea of exclusive practices and religions that don’t mix. The other, I suspect, has to do with the fact that I was a haafu (“half (Japanese)”) who otherwise seem to fit into the stereotype. Like the stereotype, my other half is “white (inasmuch as Ashkenazi Jews are white),” English-speaking, and American. But not, Protestant, or even any brand of Christianity. Christianity was rare enough, the existence of Jews or Judaism as a religion was mostly heard of by only Christians (who compromise a single-digit percentage of the population and concentrated among intellectuals and urban dwellers) and businessmen who read books like “The Elders of Zion” and “Teachings of a Jewish Billionaire.” It’s also about the expectation that as a half-American and half-Japanese person, even though I had only lived in Japan my entire life, I was supposed to be an expert on American ways and American life.

 

Anyway, all of this aside, I am enjoying Chanukah once again under my parents’ roof (which doesn’t happen much any more).

Leo has requested latkes and sufganiyot so we might get that or not. We actually had some delicious latkes the night before Chanukah, but having it again actually during Chanukah wouldn’t be bad!

 

Chag Chanukah Sameach, Fellow Yidn!!

(and Merry Christmas, Habari Gani?, and such to our lovely neighbors.)

One thought on “Chappy Chanukah!

Leave a Reply

