Notes from My Readings

Why the New York Times Magazine Article Bugged Me SO Much

To anyone who knows me, it is obvious, but one of the reasons the Sharon article bugged me so much is because I could have ended up in her position so easily.In fact, before I got married and had a ketubah, I thought about how I would ever “prove” my Jewishness if in case I decided to make aliyah. It was largely a theoretical question for me, but I did realize that I would probably have to get an Orthodox rabbi attesting to the fact that, yes, he knew for sure that I was Jewish. Otherwise I would have no proof since my grandparents’ ketubah was long lost and my parents did not have a Jewish–let alone an Orthodox–wedding.

How scarry… Gives me the shivers.

Leave a Reply

