Family · Food · Religious life

Pesach (a.k.a Passover)

Pesach is coming up.

Incidentally, this happens to be my favorite holiday.

I always looked forward to it as a kid and still do as an adult.  It’s also the holiday that was most difficult for me to be away from home because I had such fond memories of celebrating it back home.  Two years ago, which was my first time I was able to be back home for Pesach again in ten years, was a truly memorable occasion.

My memory of Pesach was that our eating habit became incredibly simple.

Most of our meals would consist of Matzah, creamed cottage cheese, jam, very simple vegetable soup, and very simply flavored fish.  Everything seemed so magically and simply flavored compared to our usual rich flavorings using shoyu (soy sauce) and miso.  Plus, I loved the sweetness of matzah (still do) and the specialness of matzo ball soup being served.  This was the only time of the year we would get matzo ball soup because my mother refused to make it any other time of the year.

This year, Misha and I are planning on making Japanese potato croquettes (fried mashed potato balls).  I can’t wait!! My mouth is already watering….

Leave a Reply

